|
PRISM = Publishers Relying on Insidious Subversion Methods
From Peter Suber: The AAP/PSP has launched PRISM (Partnership for Research Integrity in Science & Medicine). I'm quoting today's press release in its entirety so that I can respond to it at length:Fortunately for us all, Peter has already responded; I won't excerpt his point-by-point rebuttal here, you should go read it all. This is disgusting. This runs counter to everything that science, academia, scholarship (and scholarly publishing!) stand for. There are no names on the PRISM site yet -- but I'm going to find as many as I can and publish them here. Sunlight is the best disinfectant, and I want to know just who is taking part in this revolting effort to steal from the commons and turn public goods into private profit. (We can start with the AAP: their members page is essentially one long list of companies and organizations with whom I will assiduously avoid doing business until and unless they dissociate themselves from PRISM, and preferably from the AAP altogether.) More later. Oh yes indeedy. Comments Post a comment |
RSS Feed
Links: |
This can get you started: The PRISM site is registered as follows, according to WHOIS. This is the name and contact information for the person who registered the domain name for the PRISM site.
Domain ID:D134593785-LROR
Domain Name:PRISMCOALITION.ORG
Created On:08-Dec-2006 16:29:09 UTC
Last Updated On:07-Feb-2007 03:48:47 UTC
Expiration Date:08-Dec-2007 16:29:09 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Tucows Inc. (R11-LROR)
Status:OK
Registrant ID:tu5LWiXRg6kKy617
Registrant Name:Barbara Meredith
Registrant Organization:Association of American Publishers Inc.
Registrant Street1:71 Fifth Avenue, 2nd Floor
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:New York
Registrant State/Province:NY
Registrant Postal Code:10003
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.2122550200
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:+1.3105642007
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:bmeredith@publishers.org